• Print

Author Topic: "Out Of Memory"  (Read 708 times)

pitt

• Email
"Out Of Memory"
« on: April 20, 2012, 06:03:24 AM »
Hello,

I have been developing a 2D RPG game for over six months now. I have incorporated the game editor into the engine for a quick way to switch between game play and editing and outsourced most if not all of the game script to external files. I have now run into an error "Out of Memory". I am wondering why this appears as when compiled the game takes up 148MB of RAM. This is out of 8GB under Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit. One would assume you could utilize all of the RAM + SWAP your system can handle and 148MB for an engine game engine + editor is not that much compared to commercial games that use 500MB-2GB RAM. Separating the two engines and keeping both updated when a global change is made would take many, many, many extra hours and be a complete headache. Even if I were to separate the two and develop a system from switching from one EXE to the other I still need space to develop the game engine which I predict when done will take up 5 times the space the current editor does. Is there some sort of way around this error?

Assistance with this issue will be appreciated,
Pitt

Galleon

• Administrator
  • QB Forever
    • Email
Re: "Out Of Memory"
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2012, 06:12:47 AM »
Hi,

Does it give an error number when it displays "Out of Memory"?
Something old... Something new... Something borrowed... Something blue...

pitt

• Email
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2012, 06:26:23 AM »
No it does not. See attached image.

Galleon

• Administrator
  • QB Forever
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2012, 06:32:35 AM »
When the error is being displayed, open up 'task manager' and see what comes after the ... in the Critical Erro... title, it should be listed as one of the program names.

LeChuck

• 18 * 37
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2012, 06:52:17 AM »
Not sure if I can help but from my experience this comes from setting an array(s) to large.