• Print

Author Topic: Best way to animate a former animated GIF  (Read 451 times)

DeeBee

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 491
    • Donnelly-House
    • Email
Re: Best way to animate a former animated GIF
« Reply #15 on: October 24, 2011, 09:25:20 PM »
Using the CHDIR statement as below seems like a good solution
for programs that need access to image and sound files to run,
such as the Sprite Library Asteroids and Space Invaders.

(although, really, the system needs to be changed to compile and
execute programs in the .BAS source directory instead of QB64 --
at the very least, they should be put in an exec subdirectory instead
of the QB64 directory, which gets "all junked up" -- I wouldn't think
that would be difficult, and should be TOP priority, imo)


From samples\pete\tank\tcv2.bas :

Code: [Select]
'The graphics for this game have been BSAVEd, and thus have to be loaded
'directly into memory to be drawn. This presents quite a problem because
'Qbasic often has quite a bit of trouble locating files that need to be
'BLOADed. This problem may be corrected by reffering to line 122 where there
'is a CHDIR. All you have to do is type the directory in which this game
'resides into the "" marks.

Line 122 says:

Code: [Select]
'Change the default directory to the one being used for TANK COMMANDER. When
'setting this, remember to uncomment it.
'CHDIR ""

Although, this program has a CHDIR ".\samples\pete\tank" already added at the top.

Which is probably the best place for the statement (and comments) so people don't miss it.

Clippy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 16446
  • I LOVE π = 4 * ATN(1)    Use the QB64 WIKI >>>
    • Pete's Qbasic Site
    • Email
Re: Best way to animate a former animated GIF
« Reply #16 on: October 24, 2011, 10:11:16 PM »
Bitch, bitch...

The program needs the DLL files to run and we cannot ASSUME that you put them in your system folder can we? Did you? Will you...

Do we care... :P
QB64 WIKI: Main Page
Download Q-Basics Code Demo: Q-Basics.zip
Download QB64 BAT, IconAdder and VBS shortcuts: QB64BAT.zip
Download QB64 DLL files in a ZIP: Program64.zip

DeeBee

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 491
    • Donnelly-House
    • Email
Re: Best way to animate a former animated GIF
« Reply #17 on: October 24, 2011, 10:57:41 PM »
Effectively "all" other programming languages and other software
have no problems with DLL's being in the system directory.

THAT is the standard. (for Windows)

I don't like QB64 being and acting non-standard.
It's "better than that". (or should be)

Clippy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 16446
  • I LOVE π = 4 * ATN(1)    Use the QB64 WIKI >>>
    • Pete's Qbasic Site
    • Email
Re: Best way to animate a former animated GIF
« Reply #18 on: October 24, 2011, 11:48:27 PM »
YOU are NOT the standard here!

Download my QB64BAT.ZIP and add the compile64.bat file to the BAS right click Open with menu if you can figure out how to do that in your "standard" Windows. Or is right clicking beneath you?

That is as STANDARD as you are gonna get kiddo!
QB64 WIKI: Main Page
Download Q-Basics Code Demo: Q-Basics.zip
Download QB64 BAT, IconAdder and VBS shortcuts: QB64BAT.zip
Download QB64 DLL files in a ZIP: Program64.zip

DeeBee

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 491
    • Donnelly-House
    • Email
Re: Best way to animate a former animated GIF
« Reply #19 on: October 25, 2011, 12:09:38 AM »
Thanks for the info.
(that severely lacking feature is on my To Do list for fixing
at some point for myself, and others who may want to use my mods --
QB64 being "open source" is one of its strong points imo)

However, note that you are increasingly making a case for yourself
for not being "purposely obtuse".

Johny B.

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 488
    • Email
Re: Best way to animate a former animated GIF
« Reply #20 on: October 25, 2011, 04:26:21 AM »
The batch files are useful, but their usefulness ends when you try to intergrate them into the IDE (they are useless when I press F5)
--Luke
"Time is an illusion; Lunchtime doubly so." - Douglas Adams

Clippy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 16446
  • I LOVE π = 4 * ATN(1)    Use the QB64 WIKI >>>
    • Pete's Qbasic Site
    • Email
Re: Best way to animate a former animated GIF
« Reply #21 on: October 25, 2011, 10:59:19 AM »
The current path would have to be found in the IDE and used to move the file back. But if it is created in the current folder QB64 won't be able to run it without the DLL's. That could be an option in the Make EXE only menu selection though.
QB64 WIKI: Main Page
Download Q-Basics Code Demo: Q-Basics.zip
Download QB64 BAT, IconAdder and VBS shortcuts: QB64BAT.zip
Download QB64 DLL files in a ZIP: Program64.zip

GarryRicketson

  • Guest
Re: Best way to animate a former animated GIF
« Reply #22 on: October 29, 2011, 02:38:53 PM »
I made 2 animations, acually now several, but these 2  I posted, originally the were GIFS,..
 Then I made spitesheets, and did them with qb64, also with some help, from code posted by CG and unseen some time ago,.. Here is the link to samples, :
Garrys QB64 animations
where I posted them,...There seems to be many ways to to this,..I like just useing  a srpite sheet. When I made the original GIFs, before I actually made the GIF, I had to do the drawings, I had the images all as .png images, but that dose not matter, they could be .bmp or whatever,..Ok, the images were in sort of data sheet or a folder, images.data,..all ready, this I needed to do before I compiled the GIF, so I just used the same images, to make my sprite sheet,..There are many programs, that can view a GIF, frame by frame, so all you need to do is copy the frames, (each image) and then put them on a sprite sheet,
  Unseen , made a program that helps do that, but I would need to search the forum, I also have it, but at the moment, not very handy,...I will look later, and put it on drop box,...or if you  search the forum, you may find the discussions,...
 Bbob at net54, is very knowledgeable on this to,... and actually the batchfiles, is very helpful, in simplefing the process, because there are several "steps" involved .
 After all said and done, I am not sure, what the "best" way would be, I guess, try all the ways you can, then the one that is easiest,and works best for you , would be the "best",..thats what I do.
 From garry

  • Print